The law forbidding drivers to hold cellphones while driving, passed the first test in South Carolina.
The bill introduces a penalty of $200 for driving with a mobile phone or other gadget in their hands. Drivers not prohibited talking on a mobile Handsfree and also use a GPS app on your phone or other electronic device if they need to follow a certain route.
For or against? #SC lawmakers just sent a bill to the House Education and Public Works Committee that makes it illegal for people to hold their cell phones while driving. https://t.co/eZsNUUxjM8 #WCCB
— WCCB News Rising (@WCCBNewsRising) January 31, 2019
In 2014, authorities in South Carolina banned texting while driving. However, the author’s new proposal, Republican bill Taylor of Aiken, argues that the law is too weak, and not just because the fine is only $25. The police often can’t write just because the driver is sending mobile phone messages, can always pretend that was just dialed a number or used a GPS.
On 29 January the government approved the bill, sending it to the Committee on education and public works southern California.
The state government did not know exactly how many accidents or accidents occurred because of texting. However, at the hearing of the law on Tuesday, the Department of public safety reported that 62 of 1015 people killed on the roads of South Carolina, were victims of accidents triggered by inattention of drivers.
Director of insurance ray Farmer said probably small fines and the loopholes in the state law about text messages associated with an increase in recent years, 10% of premiums on car insurance.
At least 16 States have banned holding cell phones while driving. Among them Georgia, where a member of the house of representatives, Republican John Carson has proposed such a ban last year. «The law on the loudspeaker» in Georgia entered into force on 1 July 2018.
According to Carson, in 13 States, where there are bans on mobile phones while driving, the death toll in road accidents decreased by at least 16%.